Installing Additional Vents

Hello all,

It is becoming apparent that I need to fit some more upper ventilation to my boat as it has two cabins with absolutely no ventilation at all, crazy !!

My boat has the vinyl headlining fitted that allows approx a 3 inch void space between the roof and vinyl, my main concern is how on earth do you make this good and look reasonable when you fit a vent above it without just a nasty 4 inch diameter hole in the vinyl.

Also, what is the best type of vent to use, in the past on narrowboats it was easy as you just fitted brass mushroom vents, wouldn't quite look right on a cruiser methinks, I have considered the flat pancake / UFO type vents but I don't feel they give the best ventilation, however I stand to be corrected on this as I have had little experience with them.

Any info / input / help / past experiences all gratefully received.

thanks in advance

cheers

Trev.

I trimmed a friends new vents several years ago. Quite simply I cut out a match to the flange of the vent used varnished mahogany which then served three purposes, it acted as a pad to the nuts & bolts that I used to fasten the ventilator and it also pulled the headlining up to the roof, lastly it covered the edges of the vinyl. You may need to increase the foam padding between roof and headlining around the wood pad, a case of suck it and see. Some vents are delivered with a suitable metal backing plate, am sure that if you are a half reasonable DIYer you'll find it all falls into place.

• Like 1

2 hours ago, tjg1677 said:

Hello all,

It is becoming apparent that I need to fit some more upper ventilation to my boat as it has two cabins with absolutely no ventilation at all, crazy !!

My boat has the vinyl headlining fitted that allows approx a 3 inch void space between the roof and vinyl, my main concern is how on earth do you make this good and look reasonable when you fit a vent above it without just a nasty 4 inch diameter hole in the vinyl.