Any Recommendation For Replacement Led Bulbs?

Hi all,

Our forecabin has a couple of reading lamps with 12V 21W double-contact bayonet bulbs (BA15d) and these are the only sources of light. I'd like to replace the incandescent bulbs with LED ones but they would need to be at least 21W equivalent. Has anyone any suggestions where I might find something suitable?

I replaced some of mine a few years ago, and even though I am an electronic engineer, I was caught out.

I bought standard 12 volt leds from ebay however, unless they are specifically designed for cars, caravans or boats they can be totally unsuitable, as these were, they started to flash the odd led, then some would go out and this was only in the second season too.

12 volt led devices are designed for 12 volts, to be precise... 12.0 volts, any voltage over that will reduce their life exponentially. 

Boat voltages can be as high as 14.8 volts (higher with some shore based chargers).

So select your leds wih care, ideally you need them to work in the range 11.0 to say 15.0 volts dc So buy from a reputable supplier like those mentioned, and forget the generic 12 volt type off a well known auction website. There are some good products on there, but you need to look at the spec carefully. Luckily I was only caught out with about 5 devices. 

Hope it helps.

Richard

• Like 2

I have replaced all of the bulbs in my car with led's. Don't go for the ordinary ones the ones that look like lots of mini bulbs the problem with these is the envelopes are all soldered to a PCB and the soldering fails through vibration

Use the ones called cree bulbs these look like small yellow squares. These are bonded to the PCB and in two years I have not had one fail. And my digital voltmeter often runs at 14.8 volts

cree.jpg

43 minutes ago, Bound2Please said:

Please please you plant bulbs and light lamps. Never yet seen a daffodil shining a light out of its petals.

Charlie :hardhat: