40 Years Broadland Abstinance

HEM

First contact?  Authur Ransome's Coot Club at the age of 9 or 10.

Visited Broadland several times in 1960s & early 70s.  Parents used to hire a riverside "cottage" (Thurne, Repps, Ranworth) & several times we hired a half-decker from Martham Boat Dev co.  Been a Life Member of the Broads Society for ages.

Employment moved me to the Hamburg area of Germany "for a year" in 1982 & been here ever since.

Haven't sailed on water for many years (German girlfriend & I did capsise in a Laser II 30 years ago whilst on Majorca - but she still married me).

However I've been sailing "through the air" for over 30 years, now with 1200+ hours on gliders/sailplanes.  I learnt the language & how to fly at the same time.
I'm also involved in the organisation of the sport in Germany (on a voluntary basis).

We intend to visit Broadland at some stage to show my wife the magic of the Broads. We'll hire a motor cruiser as I don't trust myself to hire a yacht.  Problem ist I'm rather tall (over 6' 4").

We are probably looking at September 2018 by which time I'll be retired.

• Like 8

We look forward to re-welcoming you to Norfolk. Remember Norfolk is not just The Broads, allow enough time, you will be retired, to introduce your wife to the beautiful North Norfolk Salt Marsh Coast, it's beaches, harbours and small resorts.

• Like 2

Welcome along HEM. My husband is tall as well so if you want any tips about our experience of that on various boats feel free to send me a message. But in general I would say that the one non-negotiable item for us when choosing a boat to hire is the layout. In other words it's always got to have a bed you can hang your feet off! :)

5 hours ago, ChrisB said:

We look forward to re-welcoming you to Norfolk. Remember Norfolk is not just The Broads, allow enough time, you will be retired, to introduce your wife to the beautiful North Norfolk Salt Marsh Coast, it's beaches, harbours and small resorts.