Maiden Voyage On Moonlight Shadow

I'm not very good at writing such things so I don't know how this will turn out, however we enjoyed our first trip on our new syndicate boat, so thought i would share the tale. I hope it comes across as interesting as the journey itself.

By the way I am typing this on my phone so please excuse any auto correct issues

Day 1 - The Nervous One

Setting off from North Derbyshire at 6 a.m on a beautiful May morning we had a leisurely drive towards Horning in order to call into The New Inn for some breakfast whilst watching the river awaiting our initial showround and familiarisation of the boat. We were all buzzing with excitement, nervous excitement for myself imagining every quayside, boat, bridge, swan or even low flying aircraft I could crash our new boat into, all this despite never having done any damage to any boat or property on any of my previous exploits.

Arriving at The New Inn just after 9 everyone ordered their breakfast, I settled for just a coffee as I couldn't handle anything to each at the time. The breakfast sandwiches were, I was told, ok but the bread was quite dry.

I received a call half way through breakfast to say if we were available we could meet at the boat earlier than planned. Fantastic news so off we set for a drive to Brundall and meet at Brooms boatyard.

The usual look around the boat and familiarisation of the electrical system, steering controls, engine checks etc done we were left alone to unload the car and get ourselves settled in. Now normally I leave the unloading to the other half whilst I set off, but as it turned out I was making as many excuses to delay setting off, never have I been so nervous about moving a boat in my life.