First Night On The Broads

Vicmarie

After putting a post on the Independence thread that I had had a few weeks on the Broads over the last 25 years I thought about the dates, soon realised that it is actually 30 years since that first night and it is easily remembered. October 87 and that storm, we got on board our new boat at Bells yard Brundall and decided to have our first night at Loddon under the trees moored stern to. Up in the night tightening ropes with blue lights flashing in the distance. No way that anyone was going to sleep.

Let's just say it is not easily forgotten, pre mobile phones we thought it was confined to Norfolk. It was only when we returned home to Watford 3 or 4 days later that we realised how bad it had been. Neil

• Like 3

My first day of full time work was on the day after the "Great Storm" in October 1987. I was a newly graduated Engineering Geologist and had accepted a position with a Norwich based site investigation and piling contractor. I was to meet my new boss at Trowse and then we were going to travel to Fakenham for a day's trial pitting for a new commercial development. We couldn't get out of Norwich, trees were down across all the major routes to the north and west, so we gave in and went back to the office for a cuppa.

It must have been pretty horrendous on a boat!!

You maybe  are unique Vicmarie. there can't be many others (or any) who spent their first night on a boat that night.

Anyway, as if any one cares, Mrs W and I, first night on a boat at Salhouse, a beautiful June evening, we had no idea where we were going and ended up there. Turned out good.

The first night of our first trip in recent years was June 2012 at Brammerton Common. A couple on a privately owned boat called out instructions to us as we were coming into moor. And they helped tie the ropes. That set the tone for a wonderful week and many more return trips.

• Like 1