JABSCO WARRANTY - Not worth the paper its written on

GrantS

I have a Jabsco Automatic Water Pump (Cleghorn Waring), which i fitted to my boat last year. Recently it has been pulsing when the taps in either the head or the galley are not fully open. Now, this could be just debris or a restriction somewhere, but i thought i would speak to Jabsco about this first.

They have said that they are happy for me to remove the front of it to check for any debris / scale that may stuck inside it, but if the cause ends up being the pressure switch itself that is the problem, they informed me that this is not covered by their 3 year warranty.

According to Jabsco, it is only the motor that is covered. The pressure switch is classed as a wear and tear part.

This is misleading to any potential buyer, because on the box it came in, it says in big letters ' 3 Year Warranty'

I will need to investigate the actual cause of this yet, but thought that i would advertise for 'JABSCO' the fact that the pressure switch on their water pumps are not covered by their attractive 3 year warranty.

Also, should anyone need to telephone the company regarding any of their products you won't have to dial the 0870 7388001 Tel No.

Here is the alternative one - 01462 480380 :mad:

Without seeing the exact wording of the 3-year warranty, I won't make any comment on that side of it, but is the pressure switch a replaceable item or is it integral, thus rendering the pump a total write-off?

The Sale of Goods Act 1979, amended in 1994, says that when you buy goods they must fit the description, be of satisfactory quality - which includes lasting a reasonable length of time - and be fit for their purpose. If goods aren't of satisfactory quality you're entitled to compensation, which is normally the cost of repairs or replacement.

The manufacturer's guarantee is in addition to these rights, not instead of them. The JabscoShop Terms & Conditions actually state this.