Sign in to follow this  
mbird

Any recommendations for a P&S?

We're in the market for a P&S camera at the mo. I've got my eye on a Panasonic Lumix TZ19 as it has an excellent optical zoom range, and also manual aperture & shutter speed settings. Any comments or alternatives I should be looking at?

I'm not a huge expert but, if you also fancy near DSLR image quality, why not a bridge camera such as the Fujifilm FinePix S4000? I had a Fuji of this sort prior to my Canon DSLR and the simple P&S quality was excellent! They also have full manual controls. Some good prices to be had on Amazon for example.

Trevor

www.normanboats.co.uk

The choice of point and shoot digitals is vast, but I find it surprising how few now incorporate simple optical eye level viewfinders in addition to the standard lcd on the back.

In bright sunlight they're so much easier to frame the subject with, are less obtrusive to use, and are much easier to hold steady (against the face).

I wouldn't consider one without, and that reduces the range of available models considerably.

Hi Mark,

Depends on what you want to spend, but going by the web forums, the frontrunners for quality and versatility seem to be Olympus XZ-1, Panasonic LX5 and Canon S95. The prices seem to vary wildly between different online suppliers.

We're in the market for a P&S camera at the mo. I've got my eye on a Panasonic Lumix TZ19 as it has an excellent optical zoom range, and also manual aperture & shutter speed settings. Any comments or alternatives I should be looking at?