Sign in to follow this  
jillR

out and about with a polarizing filter

hi jill,

it looks like the sky wasn,t bright enough for the filter, have a look at this comparison ,the filter makes the sky darker.

post-777-136713909451_thumb.jpg

the filter can reduce reflections, but only upto a point, hope this helps,as i am no expert!!

hi trev

i was expecting that sort of effect as it was really hot and sunny here today :?

still not sure if i have to twist :lol:

the shots do look a little dark

i have tried taking it off and on for a few pictures then couldn't remember which ones as i i kept sing shots i had to have that day

i find screwing it on and off a bit fiddly

will have to try again

jill

Posted that before the second batch of pictures!! in these, they look like the filter wasn,t dark enough for the conditions? my filters are adjustable ie you turn them and they go lighter or darker, upto a factor of 3, having said that you still have to be carful shooting into the sun no filter can cope with that :wave .

i have a hoya circular thingy

i have tried twisting it but cant see the difference when looking through the view finder but thats probably just me :roll:

If it's definitely a polarising filter, and not just a UV or Skylight 1A, then rotating it through 90 degrees should darken and lighten the sky dramatically, even just to the eye, let alone when viewed through an SLR viewfinder.

Is the camera a through the lens reflex ? I admit I've never tried one on a camera with an lcd screen, maybe they would auto compensate the exposure as it's rotated, and mask the effect to the eye. Try just holding it in front of your eye and rotating it, to see the effect. :)

Thats exactly what I was going to say Strowy. Just hold the lens and look through it Jill, then turn it 90 degrees. If that has no effect, then it ain't a polariser. If it does, then pop it back on the camera and play some more :grin: