The Song of Joy Restoration Project

Guest lee(song of joy)

Hello folks ,Well I am now starting the s.o.j. project ,it had been put on hold due to work commitments and lack of funds,so I have had to try and come up with a solution to fund the project ,so here goes......

Song of Joy is a 36ft cruiser built in 1936 by george and sons boat boatyard in wroxham,she has a wooden hull and top construction of I believe pitch pine,I bought her in 2008 for seven hundred pounds,

She is in a very bad state of repair , most of the hull is rotten in fact most of the boat is in this condition and requires a complete restoration/rebuild, most have said it is a crazy idea as she is in such a state (they all own steel or plastic and do not have the love for wooden boats) .

Now a little about me,my name is lee, I have been restoring classic wooden boats for several years working and being trained by tom of fine wooden boats in huntingdon,he is regarded as the no 1 in classic boat restoration and has restored many classic rivas ,one which was finished last year was shown and won the top award (gold) at the henley on thames regatta ,we also restored a broads cruiser called nymph(planked one side),and a branhams(cant remember her name)which tom bought to live on and was in a similar condition to s.o.j ,all my work is to the very highest standards I will be posting photos shortly.

So the idea I have come up with to fund the project is this....