Does Anyone Have Any Knowledge

Hi Stuart, 

I have no experience of these, if you have the battery power available and the correct size stranded cable to supply this immersion heater, then it should be fine.

It will draw 25 amps at 12 volt so a minimum of 2.5 mm2 cable is required for a short run, longer I would go for 4mm and it will need a 30 amp breaker to control it.

Regards

Alan

• Like 1

I think the key word is "immersion" as you might get problems with electrolytic action.

25 amps is a lot of power at 12 volts and running this for one hour would effectively use half the usable power of a 110 A/H battery.

This sounds like the sort of thing you would only turn on when the engine is running. You would need an awful lot of solar panels, to power this on their own!

An Origo alcohol hob ( if you do not have gas aboard ) would warm you up some water a lot quicker. Alcohol/Meths is a tried and tested source of heat on boats for years and one of the safest.

I would guess at 300w dc in a hot water tank of boat size its going to take a very very very long time to heat up the water and in dc terms use an enormous amount of energy in doing so.  

Depending on tank size it may not even be enough to make the water luke warm before it flattens the batteries anyway.

It says it can be used to stop livestock water freezing, unless they are having a brew I dont think the animals drink hot water!! 

• Like 1

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Highlander-Solar-Shower-Black-Litres/dp/B0010A377C

Hope the link works.  We had something like this a few years ago when we owned a 21 foot cruiser on the Kennet and Avon canal.  Worked fairly well not overly hot.  

In a previous caravan we had a 12v kettle for warm water, but as previously mentioned it did take rather a long time to work!

SueH