ditching the gremlins!!

Guest Jupiter Mist

hi all.....

as most of you are aware...suzanne and I have had some very bad experiences on jupiter mist when trying to plane, on breydon for example, and without successfully mastering this, we couldnt possibly go salt side again, after some awful experiences there too.

Although we now have traded Jupes for Sea Hunter (aka"bling of the broads") our fears have been with us and we decided to devote this weekend to getting rid of the gremlin fear of tipping over at 30 knots!!

So we have been on the F33 since friday (although we slipped out for a lovely valentines lunch at the dukes head in somerleyton on saturday). We took her up breydon on friday, hour after high tide, and although extremely nervous, we slowly got her on the plane and up to 20 knots (took us 10 minutes to get up through sheer terror!!!) but once up ....she was rock solid!!! Woo-hoo!

Anyway, decided that this success was not enough, so we have just been out again, reailsing the extreme amount of fuel we had been using by only tentatively pushing the throttles throughout the rev range. We also found that going up on the plane slowly, the tabs probably held us back and one of the turbos didnt want to kick in when it should have done. Even so...we eventually got there....20 knots...though I will add, because of our fears, we did this in the lower helm position!

So, anyway, we bit the bullet this morning and went for it...full on!!!

Both on the flybridge, we got to the straight stretch on breydon (you know, the bit where even I coulnt hit a post!!) and with a bit more vigour, opened the throttles.....wow!!!!! she wooshed up on the plane quite easily...and once up there, she was rock solid!!! Turbos kicked in fine this time...

Well if that wasnt enough...we got braver....