Brinks Jazz 14th May - New Direction

Monday 14th May

This is a tale of my 4 night hire of Brinks Jazz(4) as a solo sailor, which commenced Monday 14th May. I need to preface the account as to how I came to be hiring solo. My wife and I have been holidaying at least once a year on the Broads since 1973 and it's always special for us. Last July I lost her which has turned my life upside down. We were due on Silver Symphony on the 16th June last year. The day before she developed abdominal pains and needed an emergency operation which took place on the 16th. She was recovering slowly but eventually contracted hospital acquired pneumonia, and being so weak following the operation was not able to fight it off. The months since then have been hard but thinking of what's left for me, and taking a little inspiration from ChrisB and others on here, I called Silverline and they agreed to let me solo hire Symphony for a week on the 22nd June. This is still the plan.