Acle Bridge Vanity Project

JennyMorgan

All of those plans in the article run completely contrary to the BA's own laid down planning restrictions with regard to the height of buildings in open marshland. Don't these educated architects already know that??

Someone around here is, yet again, wasting a whole lot of time and money, tilting at windmills.

• Like 5

I'm an engineer so lacking in other qualities but I don't see the broads theme in any of the designs. IMHO any of those designs could have been submitted as a proposal for a steel works visitor centre  a small mammal enclosure or a modern art gallery. 

My guess is that it's going to happen, despite the criticisms, but surely the architects could have designed something a little more in keeping with it's landscape. Making something that just echoes 'White sails in the sunset', doesn't cut it. The 'viking longhouse' or barn conversion look, doesn't really do it either and as for the door stop wedge look...

Perhaps, they could take a look at the Norfolk Wildlife Trust's 'Hickling Broad Visitor Centre'. It isn't an architects 'ego trip' and it fits in well with it's surroundings. The pitch stained wood and red clay tiles are a typical broads build and don't look out of place. It's a simple building, is light and airy and does exactly what it was designed to do.

So really, it's a case of 'go back to the drawing board'. But first, open your eyes and walk around the marshes and rivers, dump your ego's and design something that looks like it belongs there...

39 minutes ago, kingfisher666 said:

My guess is that it's going to happen, despite the criticisms, but surely the architects could have designed something a little more in keeping with it's landscape. Making something that just echoes 'White sails in the sunset', doesn't cut it. The 'viking longhouse' or barn conversion look, doesn't really do it either and as for the door stop wedge look...