Advice, Please

Some friends of ours are giving up there steel narrow boat and are intent on buying a Broads cruiser.

They have seen a 35ft 1968 Ernest Collins "hybrid" (Glass hull, wooden superstructure) and have asked for my advice but unfortunately I have no experience of such a combination. So can anyone help, please, with things to look for which may affect one of these classics?

:default_beerchug:

Excellent combination of a bomb proof hull in the early builds. The thickness of mine had to be seen to be believed. However, the money swallowing aspects are the oh so handsome wooden topsides that can hoover up work and money at an alarming rate!

Plus, they do really need a wetshed mooring to help avoid exposure to the climates worst efforts. But a beatifull craft to own and cruise in.

• Like 2
  • Thanks 1

• 1 month later...

Whatever you wish to spend, look at the piggibank and then spend half the contents and keep the rest to spend over the next five years or so as you discover what a survey won’t show you. If you can’t do yourself like Doug ( Brundal Navy) then the woodwork that WILL need to be done is expensive in material and twice as expensive as the material costs in having it done. 

If you still want to continue after reading this kudos you’re as mad as the rest of us.

Martin 

• Like 2

9 hours ago, Malanka said:

Whatever you wish to spend, look at the piggibank and then spend half the contents and keep the rest to spend over the next five years or so as you discover what a survey won’t show you. If you can’t do yourself like Doug ( Brundal Navy) then the woodwork that WILL need to be done is expensive in material and twice as expensive as the material costs in having it done. 

Martin 

Very Sound advice.