out to sea.. at some point

Guest hmmcrunchy

Hi all

just wondering if you can give a bit of advice here - i have a small sailing boat (21') on the broads and have been pottering about there quite happily - i have been looking out to sea for a while now thinking it would be quite an adventure to sail off some where new..

im a beginner at all this - i know the best way to learn is to go out with someone that knows what they are doing for a bit and see how its done etc -

just thought id ask if anyone has anymore tips or items of equipment/charts i need to buy/stock up on, it would be great. im hoping to do this at somepoint - not necessarily right away but when im sure im up to speed i hope to go for it

:Sailing

thanks

Paul

The list can be endless Paul, but provided you stay inshore in settled clear weather in a reliabe well maintained yacht then a good compass, VHF, sounder and updated charts should be a minimum. Decent life Jackets are obviously a must, flares would be worth having and don't forget a decent anchor and enough scope, coupled with a towed inflatable you would have the basics and can move up from there. Clothing and water would not be much different from the broads for those conditions. I'm sure others will have their favourite "must haves" and will post them too.

i have been looking out to sea for a while now thinking it would be quite an adventure to sail off some where new..

im a beginner at all this - i know the best way to learn is to go out with someone that knows what they are doing for a bit and see how its done etc -

Paul