The Papers And News This Morning

ChrisB

There appears to be a growing lobby for a "Short, Sharp, Circuit Breaker" lockdown to include the half-term holiday later this month.

I can see the logic, and the reasoning, especially stopping alot of what is really non- essential travel but it is going to give the holday industry serious end of season woes should it go ahead.

I would be surprised if this happened in England so soon after announcing the three tier system. But never say never with this pandemic.

My personal feeling is that enforced travel restrictions should be part of the measures taken to stop the spread of the virus geographically. But I’m no expert and have to hope that people will follow the guidelines that have been given. I know a number of people who refuse to download and use the track and trace app. How does that help any of us?

• Like 1

Scientists called for a circuit breaker in September. If our country is going to do everything late and in half measures then it will be a long hard road out of this. Although a circuit break would be another huge draw on tax payers money and commerce and employment, the cost of not acting in time will eventually overtake it. Not to mention that every time another scheme fails the public lose confidence and fail in ever increasing numbers to observe the rules.

I can hardly bear to read or watch the news anymore!

• Like 5

I think a lot of people are worried about the security side of what is an open Bluetooth application.

My main mobile exacty mirrors my tablet an contains a lot of private financial information. 

So I will not be putting it on that one.

The country may be perceived as doing things late, but until people take responsibility for their own actions and act sensibly and take reasonable precautions and protect one and other we are never going to beat this virus.