Compost Toilet?

Guest ben_walker

Hello one and all, nice to meet you, I'm Ben and I'm a newbie on the forum.

I'd just like to get feedback on any possible users of compost toilets. I'm a liveaboarder on my 27' boat, Ducksoup, and – lets be honest - those darn holding tanks are a right palaver, right?. Anyone out there got some good (or horrifying) tales to tell about the twilight world of the compost system?

I've been told this is a pretty cheap & solid model...

http://www.natureshead.net/marine.html

Hmmm ... I've only just realised that my first post on NBN is about bum-manure. My mamma always said I should try and make a good first impression... :dance

All the best,

Ben

what do you do with the 'compost' on a liveaboard? ... sell it ...?

paul

— Why, you interested? :grin:

Seriously, I can't easily imagine anyone being enviro-minded enough to go to the bother of a compost toilet and then just dumping it overboard.

The claim of the sellers is that the produced compost is odour-free. I've a pretty sceptical little soul, so I thought I'd ask around for people's experiences...

Although i have never come across a composting loo installed on a boat, i have had the experiance of using one on a campsite, where it was a necesity due to the place being a long way from the main sewerage system on the farm where we were staying, so it was a financially viable alternative to extending the main sytem down into the camp field

Yes there was a smell with it, but no where near as bad as the old 'tub' toilets of days gone by, you could also see down into the holding area of it, which i found most off putting, and like a lot of the loos found on the continent, anything other than what you had eaten or drank previously had to go into a bin at the side, including toilet paper and sanitary products :naughty: