Feelings About The Broads

MaceSwinger

I wasn't sure where to post this, so apologies if it would be better suited elsewhere.

For those that don't know, my trade within "the mob" is a musician. By trade, I am a percussionist in, as well as the Drum Major of, the British Army Band Sandhurst (BABS...as much as HQ hates us call ourselves that). For a while I've considered having a pop at arranging a suite of music inspired by the Broads, probably in 3 to 5 movements. And that is where I'd love some input from you fine ladies and gentlemen...

I know how certain areas in Broadland make me feel, from the bustle of Wroxham/Hoveton, GY and Oulton Broad to the more peaceful surroundings of South Walsham, to the almost frontier feeling of the Upper Thurne. What I'd love to know is if there are any areas within Broadland that stir up strong feelings for you, and what those feelings are.

The only part I wouldn't write from scratch would be Great Yarmouth. Personally I strongly dislike the place and the yacht station and frontage to me seems a little depressing so it wouldn't be fair to try and write something nice for it :8_laughing: to that end, that movement will be a reworking of the old folk song "Yarmouth Town". If you don't know it then I thoroughly recommend the Bellowhead version. It's a saucy shanty about a tavern owners daughter and her...shall we say "liaisons" with the local sailors.

I hope that all makes some sense, and I'm looking forward to hearing your thoughts. Even if I never get round to finishing it (which is likely) then at least we'll have had quite a good natter about it!

• Like 3
  • Love 1

Alan Smethurst, Vaughan Williams and Benjamin Britten, all of which might provide some inspiration. I found this masterful picture the other day, just needs being set to music. 

Perhaps drum and bass, the boom and the beat provided by the infernal exhaust of one of Brooms finest on tick-over.

Image (3).jpg

• Like 2
  • Love 2