Hi everyone.... Mud weight?

brandenjg

Hello, i'm new to the broads side of boating. I've finally got my head around things like tolls and 24 hour moorings etc but one thing im confused about is mud weights. Im used to boating by the sea so I've always used a traditional anchor, but after talking to a few people whilst out on the boat i got told to get myself a mudweight or id get hooked in all the braches in the river. My question is where do i get a mud weight from? Its not something i've come across before. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

This question was asked recently by another member.

If your near the north broads, Norfolk Marine in Hoveton (Wroxham to most!) will have one. Not my favourite place to shop i like service with a smile or at least a bit of jovial banter! but you should get what you want.

I can't help but agree with MBAMarine's view of Norfolk Marine. It's very easy to just be ignored in there. When they're busy with another customer, there's no acknowledgement of your presence giving any signal that they'll get round to you shortly. Additionally, the prices are high. I only go in there when I have to, rather than out of choice.

I can't help but agree with MBAMarine's view of Norfolk Marine. It's very easy to just be ignored in there. When they're busy with another customer, there's no acknowledgement of your presence giving any signal that they'll get round to you shortly. Additionally, the prices are high. I only go in there when I have to, rather than out of choice.