Twin engines

Hi there

I can only comment on shaft drive boats but yes it will run on one engine but you will have to apply a little rudder to compensate for the off centre leverage. Be aware though that the prop on the non running engine will cause the shaft and hence gearbox to rotate as you move thru the water. Some gearboxes apparently do not like that. :norty:

hope that helps

Wayne

Also, possibly, ( I have no experience of this myself ), the props should be of the correct pitch for the pair to be running.

If only one is running, then it's running with half the normal torque available for the same mass of boat to move at any give engine revs/speed.

Exactly the same as "over-propping" a single engine, which can be quite damaging.

( IMHO )

I'm envious really, my boat is only a single.... ;)

You will get a bit of offset thrust Ian, but run alternatively to keep the hours ballanced and you should be OK short term, as Strowie says some do not like freewheeling. All in all I would suggest smaller props for long term river use would be a more appropriate solution, unless you have turbos to load up that is.

Clanny is happier running one engine on the rivers. Goes straighter, possibly due to a few more revs giving better directional thrust as she is on duo prop outdrives.

Doesn't like to turn in the direction of the running engine though so starting the other one up for moorings.is a good idea.

Does save about 1 1/2 pints of beer an hour in monetary terms.

• 5 weeks later...
With the single engine low speed steering issue, by dropping one of the trim tabs on the running engine side will the drag act as a secondary rudder?

Ian :Stinky

Dont forget what a trim tab does as opposed to a rudder (or outdrive)

Rudder (or outdrive) primary effect is to yaw the boat, the secondary effect will be roll

trim tab - Primary effect roll, secondary effect is yaw