Hi

My ex-hire has not been polished since I owned her ( about 2.5 years ) and, I'm guessing for some time previous to that.

I aim to do this with a machine polisher. She is around 45 years old so I'm a bit unsure as to whether I should use compound to start with and then move on to polish r or what. I'm scared the gelcoat might be too thin for compound. I am wondering if something like  Fareclar G3  might be too rough or how to tell if this is the case.

Any suggestions?

Should add I won't be doing the hull which has been painted, just the top.

Thank you

It’s difficult to say without seeing the boat and frankly I’m no expert.  But if the gel coat is flat and powdery, just waxing it will not restore the shine, if that is your intention.

I use a dual action car polisher with a 6” rubber backing plate, a coarse microfibre pad with a heavy cut compound go get rid of the powdery finish and August Race wax to finish.  When done, it will need to be maintained though, as it will soon go powdery again.  I usually end up waxing our boat every four weeks or so during the summer to keep her looking sharp.

IMG_0387.jpeg

IMG_0390.jpeg

• Like 1
  • Love 1

1 hour ago, wooster said:

Farecla G3 Scratch Remover is a compounding agent. Too severe/risky? How about G3 All in One Polish? 

I’ve not used Farecla.  I use a car product called Menzerna 400 cutting polish.

• Like 2

30 minutes ago, wooster said:

I imagine it’s similar. I’m not sure how to determine if my gel coat is up to the compounding

Just try a small area and see how you get on.  If it won’t stand a compound and wax, the only way then would be to get it painted.

• Like 2

As far as I'm aware, there's no way of knowing how thick your gelcoat is.