Just read a long article on diesel bug contamination.

The sulphur content which gave red diesel natural biocidal action was dramatically reduced and the allowable amount of biodiesel increased from 5% to 7%. Biodiesel contains water which is a more attractive environment for the bug to grow.....

Do we need to buy additives to tame or eliminate the bug?

That's an interesting article. 12 products were tested and they gave good, but differing, comments about 8 of them. So which to choose?

FWIW, I've been using Soltron for several years, first for a BMC 1.5D and now in my GM 1.6D.

If you look at the last page of the report there is a paragraph about another problem with Fame mixed diesel, old diesel would work at temperatures as low as -7 degrees to -14 degrees, the Fame mix can have problems from +1 degree.

Soltron and Star tron are both kerosene based and improve the cold start properties of diesel.

I wonder what the emisions are like after we throw in a load off additives, to counter bactiria, add necessary lurication and aid starting? I bet that by the time we spend a fortune on additives to put right the already overly expencive fuel that the viehicle still still sends a few chuggs of black smoke out the back!

John I honestly think with the amount of motoring around you do you wont see a problem as you cycle your fuel pretty quickly! There is alot of speculation around as to what the long term effects are, but generally 'diesel bug' only seems to effect those who leave it in the tanks for long periods, especially those periods where condensation would aid the growth such as late autumn/early spring.

• 3 weeks later...