Popping my Broads Cherry

Hi folks,

In two weeks time, i pick up the alphacraft sabre. This is my first time on the broads, but not my first boating break. Im used to a narrower kind of boat. I note with much interest that many of your members feel that too many people turn up ill prepared and lack basic boat handling skills.

so with this in mind, i would like some advice. basic boat handling skills i have..... slowly slowly catchy monkey has always worked on the canals, and i presume the same is for the broads. But how do i stern moor?

Any advice on a good spot to moor on oulton for the power boats.

Any good places to eat in lowestoft.

i am exploring the southern broads, aside from the powerboat racing on thursdays, (this is a must!) can you recommend any 'must see' things.

Dog friendly locations would be appreciated too.

and finally, is their any place i can abandon the mother in law, so she can't find her way home?

Thanks

Dave

Hi Dave, and welcome to the forum cheers

There are so many factors that can effect stern on mooring, such as current and wind direction, that its just about impossible to direct someone step by step on a forum such as this one, as every attempt will be slightly different. Some Broads boats also have bow thrusters, which can help a great deal when it comes to stern on mooring, as they help you straighten the boat up ready to go backwards smoothly and very slowly onto the quay. your Boat yard should be able to give you some tuition and hands on experiance of this, and if you have a look on U-tube no doubt there will be something useful to watch on there too.