Itinerary suggestions please

TedNewman

We have just joined this forum as we are complete novices to Broads Cruising :wave

We have hired a 4 berth cruise from Alpha Craft in Brundal (The Rapide) from mid September for four nights and would love to hear from you experienced folk on what to do in this time.

We are OAPs (four of us) but are reasonably fit although one can not walk great distances - also we have ''done'' Norwich on a number of occasions so looking at going the other direction along the Yare.

All ideas gratefully accepted plus any useful tips for us Septuagenarians :Stinky

Hello Ted,

Welcome to the forum.

If you have not gone to the New Inn at Rockland St Mary it may be worth going there for your first night after you take over the boat, if you wish to go further you could moor at Reeham Ferry or turn off the river just before there and go to Loddon great little village four pubs all serving food and a great cafe just opposite the staithe.

Beccles is a good place to stop and you could stop at Somerleyton for lunch at the Dukes Head just up the path from the moorings.

Beccles yacht station has good facilities the mooring fee is £7.60 if memory serves me correctly you can also ask for an electric hook up and purchase shower tokens from the staff there.

Oulton Broad yacht station offers similar facilities.

Have a good holiday, take it all slow and easy and enjoy.

Regards

Alan

Welcome aboard Ted.

I've had a couple of 4 day trips out from Alphacraft and found them a very good company to hire from.

I had Spitfire and Hurricane and must admit that I can't remember having actually seen Rapide "in the flesh".

(You might find that my "Holiday Tale" of my trip on Hurricane will give you some ideas as to your itinery

http://www.thenorfolkbroads.net/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=10391 ) but I didn't get up to Rockland Staithe and have already added the New Inn as a potential stop for the next trip "Down South"