Greetings from Deptford!

Newbie here - am far more used to canal boats so I found this forum in a search and what a splendid resource it is! Being used, as I said, to "sewer tubes" I had no idea about tides or the hire boats (Tupperware/yoghurt pots as canal users like to call them!) and thanks to you guys I now have a much better idea of where I want to go/see and we may even venture down south! We're hiring for a week, first week of June.. In Petite Gem from Stalham.. Recon it'll be crowded?

I love the idea of mud weighting in a broad, but I do wonder how choppy it might get in a stiff breeze as I get sick in the bath!

Thanks again to all contributors for this site..

Xx

J

Many thanks Mr Admiral for your welcome!

And thanks for putting my mind at rest re the "lumpiness" of the water - I just did a search on Hoveton Little Broad/black horse broad and this is the only place I've managed to find out if it's ok to mudweight there.. the sun is shining here and I'm far more exited now than any self-respecting 48 yr old should be! I shall look out for forum stickers on our travels..

;-)

Jane x

Hello Jane,

Welcome to the forum from Tan & myself.

Hoveton Little Broad is quite small and the entrance is narrow, I is only open for the season.

My favourite board to mud weight on is South Walsham Broad, just on the edge close but not too close to the trees. If we mud weight overnight I use an addition mud weight attached to the aft rails or cleats to stop the constant turning you get with one weight.

As John says it is usually quiet  on the Southern Broads, but keep  it to yourself we don't want it too busy.

Regards

Alan

• Like 1

Hi Jane

Welcome to the NBN. Our first week we did the north, the second a year later we did the south and we liked it so much we now have a boat share moored at Brundall.  Would recommend a tide table to help you plan the bridges, some are rather low.  Hope you have a great week. :)

Keith

• Like 1