12 volt cable...

I need to start thinking about rewiring RT's 12 volt lighting and swapping out the harsh fluro type lighting in the galley adding new warmer lamps...possibly LED...my first question is what wire/cable and connectors etc do I need to buy...a link to the right item would be useful as you can tell I'm not an expert at this sort of thing!

Grendel! ASAP are pretty cheap for cable, You'll only need 1mm2 cable for lights unless they are more than 16amps,  http://www.asap-supplies.com/marine/single-core-thin-wall-cables/single-core-primary-thin-wall-electrical-cable-1-mm, you'll have to decide if you want to run it in single or twin cable, if the lights have built in switches the twin is ok, if you have seperate switches like wall switches then singles are better, some say only use the tinned cable, I never use it and have never had a problem, as for connectors, you can use the chocolate box ones for connecting the cable to the light but I don't use them they have a habit of corroding and failing, your better off using crimp terminals like this kit, http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Toolzone-101Pc-Crimping-Plier-Tool-Kit-And-Terminal-Connector-Wire-Stripper-NEW-/140829406228?pt=UK_Computing_Other_Computing_Networking&hash=item20ca163414, you can use the straight connectors, or if you need to take the light off at anytime you can use bullet conectors, the only thing with those kits is you have to be a bit careful with the crimping pliers, too much pressure and you can cut right through the connector, you can get a pro version of the crimpers for around £25 but if your only going to use it once in a while the kit one will do the job Ok

Frank,,,