inverter

Guest basil44

when fitting an inverter to power a 240volt tv, can you place invertor near to battery then run cable from socket to tv(like an extension lead?)or do you run cable from battery, length of boat(approx 28ft) to invertor.

dont really want inverter on display all the time.

wouldnt do it myself but just thought i would ask.

thanks

basil44 :?

I'm no electrician but I believe it is best to get the 12V side of things as short as possible so keep the inverter near to the batteries and run the 230V AC wires the length you require. Be aware, of course, that 230V AC is potentially a lot more hazardous than 12V DC (according to Stephen Fry they fry elephants with nasty AC current) so appropriate precautions need to be taken.

Believe Simon is right, something to do with increased amperage with low voltage but if all you want to power is a TV, Freewiew and a DVD then you only need a 150w inverter, we do the same and elected to put in a 300w inverter to give a bit of spare.

Fitting a small inverter is a simple DIY job and you can pick up something sufficiant from the likes of Maplins for under £50.00

If you want to power the vacumme and Microwave then you are going to need serious cables and lots more batterys.

Ian