Home brewing

HemsbyPie

Anyone on here brew any of their own beverages? It's my first year of making my own alcohol...

Just finished my cider ready for Christmas (never done it before but it's got to be better than letting the apples fall off to rot on the lawn).

In the picture is also the wine that finished last month (of which there were 4 bottles to start, went down rather well).

Also got a bottle of sloe gin, blueberry whisky and 6 litres of ale brewing, should be a good Christmas cheersbar

image.jpg

Edited by HemsbyPie
  • Like 3

I've just got back into home wine making after a gap of around 20 years. This is (most) of the current brews .... there are not normally this many, it's just harvest season!

On the left is 5 gallons of greengage wine (greengages scrumped from absentee neighbours garden!). Behind that is 3.5 gallons of apple and peach wine. On the right is what will be 1 gallon of crab apple, pear and blackberry wine whilst the glass demijohn contains a bit of an experiment - liquorice tea wine. Out of sight is what will become 5 gallons of pear wine.

I've already bottled a gallon of swiss chard wine and a gallon of rhubarb wine. When you have an abundance of fruit in the garden and hedgerows, what else are you going to do with it? cheersbar

wine_sept15.thumb.jpg.33efa848fc983895f6

Carol (hic)

• Like 2

I used to make my own wine, and when I retire next year, I will take it up again. My favorites are blackberry an elderberry, Apple  and elderflower. You can also make a drinkable white wine from a 1 litre carton of orange juice. Never had much luck with plums, as the fruit contains a lot of pectin. Can't wait to get going again!

cheers

Steve

I've already bottled a gallon of swiss chard wine and a gallon of rhubarb wine. When you have an abundance of fruit in the garden and hedgerows, what else are you going to do with it? cheersbar

Carol (hic)