Olympus e420

Guest Broadsfreak

Thinking of buying this, I've got a Mju compact digital and used to use an Olympus OM1 and Minolta film slr's. I'm a crap photographer really but always liked messing about with apatures and film speeds etc. Anyone got an opinion in this camera ?

Don't know much at all about digital but it comes with a 55-150mm zoom, would this be ok for bird photography ? I understand that you can crop pictures in the camera, is this a good way to enlarge images without buying a stupid big lens? what size film lens is this equivalent to ? no idea !

Hope for some answers !

regards,

Stefan.

Hi Stefan

I have an Olympus E410 & E510 bodies with a number of lenses, I have been very pleased the olympus e-series using the four thirds system. The main advantage of the four thirds is the size of the sensor allowing very compact bodies and of course the focal length of the lenses are double the equivalent 35mm, i.e. the 40-150mm is equivalent to a 80-300mm on a 35mm camera.

The lens you mention supplied with the camera I believe is the Zuiko ED 40-150mm f4.0-5.6 telephoto Zoom. This an olympus standard lense and will give you reasonable results. this will be fine as a starting lens for bird photography. I would also suggest looking into a Standard zoom Zuiko ED 14-42mm f3.5-f5,6 as a lens for general purpose photography. Olympus produce a good range of lenses from standard kit lenses to top pro lenses to suit all budgets.

I have been very pleased with the results from both my cameras and would personally recommend them. I know Simon (Plesbit) will be cringing as he reads this reply, as I know he does not favour the four thirds system. In my view it is down to personal choice.

cheersbar

Stephan wrote,

I'm a crap photographer really but always liked messing about with apatures and film speeds etc.

Hi Stephan,

Sorry I can't help with the Olympus details, but you shouldn't feel alone in the world of C**p photographers...I'm here with you!lol :roll: