White veneers

Guest plesbit

Last year, or perhaps even the year before, we replaced our battered cockpit table with a new white one which, I think, came from the Plastimo catalogue. Although not quite the same as this one, it is along similar lines.

Now the table is basically made of what can only be described as compressed board with a white upper and lower veneer. The end result is rather neat. Now there are a number of other elements I wish to replace aboard Silver Dream but these I will have to build myself. So the question is this.... how easy is it to get hold of these veneers and how difficult are they to work with? I am hoping the answers are "very" and "not very" respectively. I admit I have not actually looked into obtaining the materials quite yet.

The alternative is to use plastic or perspex or something similar but I have little experience of working with these materials. Wood, I would have thought, would be much easier but I don't want a wooden finish - I'd like a nice white finish to match my boat.

Thoughts anyone?

Sounds remarkably like faced MDF (cue Carol Smiley) to me Simon, in which case it should be easy to source. Working with it presents no special problems apart from I believe the better quality water resistant stuff is a tad hard on cutting tools.

Well that's the thing, of course. Condensed board tends to blow when it gets damp so you'd need something a bit more resilient which I assume (hope) the Plastimo one would be. Faced MDF, it's easier to look for these things when you know the actual name. My only concern with used faced materials is that when you have to cut into them you end up with rough bits without facing at one end. I'd need to find a way "re-facing", or a similar looking face / veneer that could be re-applied to the cut ends of sections.

Go have a look at that Chandelers in disguise B&Q :naughty: