fresh water pump

hi peeps

i think my fresh water pump has just packed up

switched on the tap and nothing, checked the fuses and they all look ok so ill be checking the pump over.

its a while since i bought a fresh water pump and wondered which are your favoured and why.

jill

When I refitted Tranquil Breeze, jill, I got a Jabsco 25psi unit. These have a built in pressure sensor which prevents the pulsing of the water or the need for an accumulator to even out the water pressure. I think it cost me just over £100 but seems cheaper now.

Not sure if this is the exact model, but it was certainly similar to this one http://www.marinescene.co.uk/product/1526/jabsco-par-max-2.9-(12volt)-pressurised-water-system-pump

Hi Jill

If your taps are of the Micro Switch type, that is to say that they have a couple of wires coming from the underneath of them, and you may even hear the click of the built-in switch as you turn them on an off, you need to be sure that the pipe to tap connection is capable of not be forced out by the 25psi pressure of a pressure switch pump.

Quite often the micro-switch taps have only a 'push fit' connector which rely purely on an 'O' ring to make the the seal and keep the spigot connector in place. This is fine with a non pressure switched pump, as the the pump only activates when the taps are opened and unlike the pressure switched pumps, do not rely on back pressure to turn the pump off.

Systems using a pressure switched pump, use a domestic type tap, without any built-in switches. When the tap is opened, the back-pressure on the pressure switch in the pump is released, and the the pump runs. When the tap is turned off, a back-pressure builds up, until its sufficient to operate the pressure switch and turn the pump off. In the off position, the pressure in the pipe and on the tap connectors, can be up to 25psi. It remains under pressure all the time the taps are closed.