Inverter / Charger Issues

Hi

I have a problem with my boat electrics. The inverter won't work and the 240v electrics don't work on shore power and it seems the inverter is tripping out and therefore the batteries are not getting charged from shore power. I was an auto electrician for 30 ish years so I understand electrics fairly well. I am struggling to understand all the components involved, there ais a Cyrix-ct and a 3 battery Agoi Fet diode pack, also n alternator regulator. I can't ascertain which unit or units will cause the Inverter to trip.

Any help welcome please

I think you need to describe the circuit a bit more before we can be of much help.

The 240v electrics may not be wired direct to shorepower but rely only on the inverter.

The intelligent regulator parts should not have anything to do with the inverter.

Do you think that maybe the inverter is tripping out because it has no ventilation, and is overheating?

Does the inverter have its own bank of batteries, separate from the domestic batteries?

• Like 1

Process of elimination required here (Just been through something similar mysen)

First off, disconnect the inverter out of the equation then see if your shore power stays on.  If it does is it charging the batteries?  If so then it's obviously an inverter issue = change / repair the inverter

There are other steps to follow of course

You might wanna glance at our 'Broad Ambition TLC' thread go back a few pages to see what we went through, it might give you some ideas

Griff

• Like 1

Thank you for repling

There are 2 banks of batteries. When the fault first occurred I found out that one bank of batteries were below 10v, I thaought that this may cause the inverter to trip. As they were connected in parallel I decided that if I put one known good battery back in their place it would show that the dead batteries were the issue. But the fault is still apparent.