Tablet Experts Part 2, The "phablet".

Paul

Thank you everyone who contributed to my plea for help re Jamie's new tablet. He is now the proud owner of a new Lynx Gaming tablet. I have to admit to having given in to peer pressure somewhat. Many of his friends have the same tablet, and if you haven't seen it it slots into an xbox style controller frame meaning it is much easier to play games on. The down side is it runs Windows 10 but I have run the copious amount of updates that hit it "out of the box", so hopefully that will be it for a week or two. 

Now I need help for my new device. I need to replace my Samsung S6 which is slowly failing, bit by bit. I need a large screen device to run business apps (I work as a courier) but need it to be able to make and receive calls as well as text messages (real calls and texts, not via some third party app). Having visited our local shop it appears that what I need is not offered in the UK market, a tablet with phone capabilities, in stead you have to buy an "ultra" screen mobile phone which retail at about £600-800. He admits that the UK market is manipulated by handset manufacturers and that what I am looking for is readily available from the US or Asian markets at a fraction of the price. 

So the question is, does anyone have any experience of these devices (7inch plus screen, 4g data / calls / texts)? 

The option seems to be take a chance on something I have never heard of, or a refurbished Sony Xperia Z Ultra which sell for around £200.

That looks a good choice of tablet for game players (not that I'm one)

I would think it will have plenty of choice when it comes to games being associated to XBox.

I'm afraid I can't help you with the other matter although I do know what you're after .... good luck

Hey, there really isn't a tablet phone thing anymore, and to geta phone with a 7 inch + screen you will be pushing the, upper limits of prices.