Maiden Voyage

craigmc67

Hi I am hopefully picking up my new boat end of next week and taking her from Horning to her new home in Beccles.

im relatively new at all of this so need to plan our journey and have never done anything past burgh castle 

any suggestions we need to stay over somewhere and while we are in the north is there any must see’s on the way back to Beccles and any good pubs to eat on route 

we have an air draft of 6ft 4 “ 

I reckon will will go next Thursday or Friday 

How exciting. If you want only a reasonably short diversion off your route from Horning down to Breydon Water then I would go for Fleet Dyke and a cruise around South Walsham Broad. You could do that in about an hour. Or turn up the Thurne and then take the Dyke to Womack Water, that would be a good place for a stop. The Ant is charming but it depends whether you’ve got time to get quite far up there. 

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

Hi craigmc67, I have my boat in Beccles, over 12 years there now, Where are keeping yours?

Hope you have a good trip taking the boat there, not checked the tides for then, but stopping at Acle or Stokesby before passing through Yarmouth is good, after Braydon if you cant make Beccles, St Olaves is a good stop.

Paul.

• Like 1

16 minutes ago, petersjoy said:

I would say an hour after slack is the best time to cross.

It usually works out right if you go under Acle Bridge at the time given for low water in Yarmouth Yacht station.

By the way, make sure your tide tables are for Yarmouth Yacht Station and not Yarmouth Bar.

• Like 2
  • Thanks 1

7 minutes ago, craigmc67 said:

That’s a nice spot can he pull you out of the water there and put you under cover for repairs if needed?

We had our Seamaster 30 at Derby's Quay for a number of years before we reluctantly gave up boating.  Yard has a slipway and Steve very helpful (if still there?)  What boat have you got?

• Like 2

1 minute ago, petersjoy said:

Yes still there and still too busy.