Perkins 4.108

Help please! Coming back from Barton Broad this evening the Perkins 4.108 started to overheat. The first was sign was the warning buzzer at the helm and the temp gauge up around 100 degrees. Dropping back the revs brought the heating under control but we had to limp home on tick-over. What was in evidence was the lack of water being pumped through the engine – it was erratic at best but once we got back to the mooring there was nothing at all.

As such the boat is currently out of commission so I need a good guy to fix it for me pdq. It could I guess be either a blocked filter (if I only knew where to look) or a dead pump or something else. I’m no engineer so I need some help/guidance please.

All help will be appreciated.

Big thanks

Colin