erberspacher heaters

dear all,

I am new to the wonders of the warm air diesel heater systems and I have one fitted to our new boat of which the serveyor commented on as work in progress.

I have asked, continuously, at a local dealer to service and survey our heating system and I have now given up on the "service" offered.

As the onset of winter is upon us, I am concerned to have the unit serviced and given the once over. Any suggestions would be very much apprieciated.

Paul

Hi Paul

They are not difficult units to work on, so it depends on how handy you are with a screw driver as to whether you pay someone else to do it, or carry it out yourself. These two links may give you some information:

http://www.boat-uk.com/2009/11/eberspacher-heater-airtronic-d4-not-working-smokey-exhaust/

http://www.letonkinoisvarnish.co.uk/Eberspacher_Intro_1.html

Our old management company used to use Pank's who charged us around £600 per year for servicing on our heating.

Last year we just bought a servicing kit for £68.00 (it comprises of all the seals required after stripping down the unit) we found a company on the internet for the kit, there was even a company that would refurbish any heater sent to them and return it with a 12 months waranty for a little over £300.

Paul if you want the details of the company that we bought the kit from please PM me.

Regards

Alan

If its a new heater and working leave it just run at max heat for about 20mins a month these heaters coke up if run at low heat then need cleaning out aka

decoke easy job you can get all the info including all diagnostic codes off the net type up eberspacher and go through the various pages cheers

Like has been said, simple servicing of these is relatively easy. I say relatively - it depends on what tools you have and what the condition is.

Here's some pitfalls