Rechargeable 12v battery advice please.

Right, must be honest, yours truly is as thick as two planks when it comes to iron donkeys and electricity. I have a Mercury outboard that charges batteries at 2.98 kilowatts. I really don't want to lash out on a leisure battery just to power a navigation light and a fish-finder. Would one of these do the job and could it be recharged underway by my engine?
http://www.screwfix.com/p/sealed-lea...3-x-97mm/63554
All advice & alternative suggestions will be appreciated!

Edited by JennyMorgan

What about getting a leisure battery from someone who is changing their batteries? I changed mine last year as they were not 100% but would have powered your fish finder and nav lights all day and night. 

If I had known you could have had all 5! I  sure they charged me for recycling them. 

In answer to your question I don't see why your idea wouldnt work. The charging value seems odd though in KW?

HI Peter, I'm no expert in this.. but I guess your outboard would overcharge that and blow it great yarmouth.  Although that should power your nav lights (if they are LED) I don't quite think it would keep your fishfinder going for too long but you could take it out and charge at home with a suitable charger.

You should be able to get a small car battery from Euro car parts (theres one in lowestoft or there's a motor factors behind halfords at oulton broad) for a about the same price (but it wont last for ever), You certainly don't need a leisure battery. http://www.eurocarparts.com/063-car-batteries

cheers

Right, must be honest, yours truly is as thick as two planks when it comes to iron donkeys and electricity. I have a Mercury outboard that charges batteries at 2.98 kilowatts. I really don't want to lash out on a leisure battery just to power a navigation light and a fish-finder. Would one of these do the job and could it be recharged underway by my engine?
http://www.screwfix.com/p/sealed-lea...3-x-97mm/63554