Engine Winterizing

Baz

As I have now retired, and therefore every penny counting, I have now decided to do most of my own servicing etc. I used to have a particular hire fleet operator do this for me, but as I said, every penny now counts, and as it is now getting colder, I would like to " winterise " my diesel engine. As I have never done this before, is there some kind soul out there, who could fully describe the procedure to me. The engine does have a calorifier attached to the cooling water. A weed filter is attached also, and a sea cock,of course. Any advice with be gratefully received.

Many thanks

Baz.

In that case just get rid of all the potable water then turn the pump off and leave the taps open, drain down the calorifier fresh water which should have a drain cock at the bottom. Turn off the raw water cooling seacock and introduce ECO SAFE antifreeze into the raw water side through the weed filter with the engine running. Mix about a couple of gallons that should do it and you will see that it has fully circulated when it comes out of the exhaust. There are more thorough methods if you want but that should cover most eventualities. Another school is to use an engine room tube heater on a frost stat. Unlike petrol engines it is not usual to “fog†the engine but you can put some oil down the bores by removing the injectors if you can be arsed. Also it's worth taking the batteries home and charging them occasionaly if she is to be laid up for a while.

Bear in mind that what I have descrbed is fairly basic and you can go a lot further if you like. Here's a link if you want to go the full monty.

http://www.iwai.ie/boating/tech/index.html

A bit of Antifreeze down the shower tray drain wont go a miss either Baz, also open the taps for the shower and hold the hose as low as possible to drain the water out of the pipe. The boat that moors next to me had the shower head split open in last years frosts, so worth considering cheersbar