3rr

Victoryv

Now heres the thing, being a man of a certain age I am always looking for something to put me and my missus outside our comfort zone, so I read a post about the three rivers race and thought how hard can it be?

So how hard can it be ?

I have sailed as crew around the coast of Britain but never on a river, is it feasible to learn how to sail (self taught obviously,I am a man !) and enter this event next year.

I could hire a bought, drag it to Horning behind my own and set off without hope of being competitive.

I can,can't I ?

by the way, she said, brilliant idea !

• Like 3

most people enter it to say they have completed it, not to win, 

then they enter again to see how well they can do, 

then to try and win.

most of the time they would have done much better if the problems experienced did not happen, 

I know our crew would have won 3 times if we had done better. 

• Like 3

Just now, C.Ricko said:

most people enter it to say they have completed it, not to win, 

then they enter again to see how well they can do, 

then to try and win.

most of the time they would have done much better if the problems experienced did not happen, 

I know our crew would have won 3 times if we had done better. 

A bit more practice shooting the bridge at Potter might pay dividends!

Just now, JennyMorgan said:

A bit more practice shooting the bridge at Potter might pay dividends!

yes, got the backstay snagged on the bottom last year, 

we would have won otherwise!:facepalm:

• Like 2

I'm not sure where you live but, if you are around the 20th May, then a trip out at Horning SC open day, would give you some experience, and as an experienced Sailor you MAY even get to helm.:Sailing  you don't say if you've helmed at all...

We've had sailors from all over the world, come and compete over the years. Some successfully some not.