Servicing my Eberspacher D4

So the first planned maintenance job for this winter now the boat is on the hard was to give the Ebersplutter a de-coke. I do not know when it was done last, and whilst the unit is running fine, I'd rather prevent than cure on something as important as the heating!

I have never done one of these before, so after reading the thread on another forum and also the section on the Le Tonkinois Varnish website http://www.letonkinoisvarnish.co.uk/Eberspacher_Intro_1.html felt sufficiently armed to have a go. I must stress this is only how I did it, and not necessarily the correct way!

I ordered a D4 service kit from Butler Technik for around £18, which basically consists of a new fan gasket, burner gasket, glow pin screen and fuel filter shown in the picture below.

p1130210.jpg

First job is to remove the plastic casing. This is very simple, as the top section simply has two catches at one end then lifts off. The bottom section simply slips off once the rubber seal is removed from the bottom of the unit around the combustion inlet and exhaust tubes.

p1130211.jpg

p1130212.jpg

Next job is to remove the wiring plugs from the ECU, 3 on one side and one on the other side.

p1130213.jpg

p1130214.jpg

There is a single Torx screw requiring a T25 driver bit holding the ECU in position, and once removed the plastic prongs on the other side of the ECU can be squeezed together allowing the whole unit to be lifted off.

p1130215.jpg

Once the ECU is clear, undoing 4 Philips screws allows the fan unit to be removed. Whilst the gasket still looked in good condition, I understand Eberspacher say this should always be replaced to prevent the risk of carbon monoxide leaking into them warm heating air. Not something I'm going to chance!

p1130216.jpg

p1130217.jpg