Sabre 28 - Cruiser - Project

JawsOrca

Hello,

Again sorry for spamming the forums! but I thought it would be nice to do a thread for our new project as we are only just starting. (and I was encouraged by some fellow members ;)).

This is the fifth project we have done in 10 years, So I'd like to think we have some idea of what we are doing, however certainly welcome any suggestions! (And of course all and any help!). The first project was a CB 19, which was a classic little speed boat, the second was "Jessica" a falmouth gypsy, the third was a 55ft steel houseboat (still in progress!), forth a little timber sailing boat which make I've forgotten.

To introduce us (Encase richardsons have any boatbuilding jobs going!). I'm Alan, I work in IT, so do the planning, research and most woodwork (I'm a perfectionist though :( which makes jobs harder, (except my grammar and spelling!)) . My partner in crime is Dave and he is an ex-mechanic and does all the mechanical jobs, electrical, plumbing etc etc etc

Back to the project!, We acquired the boat as an unstarted project and the unnamed boat had been standing for a fair few years.  As you can see in the pictures below the boat was very green!

So when we got the boat, it came complete with as pictured. Thankfully she has the option of two engines (Although only one can be used), 1 x 1.5cc bmc in good condition. 1 x Peugeot (70hp) diesel car engine which had been tidily marinised.

The plan is really to make the boat comfortable as quick as possible (although we only work on the boat on the weekends so it will take about a year, plus the cost is always a struggle!), then once Jessica has sold, get this boat up to Norfolk. (although thankfully in the meantime my parents have a cruiser based in brundall so we can "borrow" as and when!).

I'll try to take pics every weekend and keep this updated (although mods if I'm using too much server space just shout at me!) but I've already left my phone at home once.