Thorpe Island

RayandCarole

I haven't been round there for quite a while, but it used to look a bit of a mess!! I am not an expert on planning permission, but would have expected it to be stay on the plot rather than disappear if the plot is sold.

I can sympathise with this guy and it is a shame if they cant agree to something in the middle ground. It's bad for the people who live there as well, but I guess it is no different to traveller sites or people who build without the right paperwork.

Just goes to show you need to investigate all the pros and cons when you make an investment like this - unless your a big corporation that has more money to splash on legal bills than the small man.

Generally speaking planning permission only last for three years and then lapses unless the work is started. It would have been appropriate to have clarified if planning permission existed before buying the plot, at the very least no work should have been started until planning permission had been checked or reapplied for and won. Starting work and then applying for retrospective planning is a tactic too often used these days.

• Like 1

The Broads Authority's draconian planning policies are the most significant thing holding back the Broads.

I wish Roger every success, but there are some horrible laws being used by authorities that are screwing people. Just take a look at the Proceeds of Crime act and see how some planning departments are destroying people...

• Like 1

I've moored on the island for the past 5 years. I moor there because it's the only mooring I can get to as I don't have my own transport and the only place I can afford.

If I was no longer allowed to moor there where exactly would the BA expect me to move my boat to? Branden

Hi Branden,