Begineers Help

I am after some help. Both my children would like to learn to fish. Me being a complete novice myself, are a little lost . Make that very lost. I have looked for some help on the Internet and a couple of books but they all seem to skip over the absolute basics. 

Could anybody recommend a good book or link that will cover what bits are needed, what those are for, how to make a rod etc with pictures if possible. 

Thank you in advance. 

14 minutes ago, gareth22 said:

I am after some help. Both my children would like to learn to fish. Me being a complete novice myself, are a little lost . Make that very lost. I have looked for some help on the Internet and a couple of books but they all seem to skip over the absolute basics. 

Could anybody recommend a good book or link that will cover what bits are needed, what those are for, how to make a rod etc with pictures if possible. 

Thank you in advance. 

First off are they going to fish in sea or in rivers and lakes? Gareth

1 minute ago, gareth22 said:

Rivers on the broads. 

Well basic's you can float fish or ledger. The same rod and reel can be used for both, if you get a simple starter set up. Go to a tackle shop, they will advise you as to what they have and in budgets.... Cheapest isnt always best.  A good tackle shop will advise on floats ledger etc for the area, also hook sizes.. A 16 is a good all round one. Get them ready tied saves a lot of lost time and fish.

Any more help needed feel free to ask me

Charlie

• Like 3

That's the issue I had. The books seemed to miss the bits I needed. 

I want to get things straight, so I understand and can help the kids. 

Nothing worse than the kids asking a question and being completely clueless. 

Gareth,

Plenty of fisher folk on here and I am sure one of us could help you out with a couple of hours tuition?

Or some people dont mind if you ask to watch them and ask them questions - some will be miserable, but most will offer some help.