Recycled Custody Counter

Wildfuzz

Our station is being demolished so I snaffled the old custody counter from the builders, it seemed too good to go in a skip. turned this shallow platter from one piece, Ionder what the previous customers would say!!!!!!

Platter.JPG

• Like 3

That is lovely. Well done. Being an ex-police officer myself (my husband still is) I like the idea of having a lasting memento. Essex are closing lots of their stations too. I will have to see if my husband can salvage the custody counter at our local nick, when the time comes!

Andrea

22 minutes ago, Essexgirl said:

That is lovely. Well done. Being an ex-police officer myself (my husband still is) I like the idea of having a lasting memento. Essex are closing lots of their stations too. I will have to see if my husband can salvage the custody counter at our local nick, when the time comes!

Andrea

Yes I started in Essex myself, Clacton, Colchester and Brightlingsea to name a few, must say I wouldn't go back now, Norfolk is as good as it gets. If hubby does get the counter give me a call and I will see what I can do for memento for the troops.

S. 

A source of cheap well seasoned wood can be your local charity shop that do old furniture, or similarly free cycle.

The older the better, the older timber is more likely to be decent timber, like mahogany or oak for example, the denser the better. Just run a plane over an edge of the timber and you will see the richness of the wood coming through.

We have so called "hardwood" windows but the grain is so open, it is like balsa wood, and if not treated, will rot quicker than pine.

Modern timbers are not seasoned, they cut the tree down on a Monday, it's at the saw mill on a Wednesday then cut into planks, on Friday it's being cut and shrink wrapped, and on Sunday, it's in goods inwards at your local Wickes. I often wonder if you stuck it in the ground it would start growing again.