Diesel Costs

Hi i am new to this boating lark and have a recent acquisition moored up in Brundall. I have looked at various posts on Google re Diesel costs on the Broads, and costs for Red diesel seem higher than normal petrol station diesel. I always thought red was way cheaper due to lower tax, are my prices correct? In which case can I mix red and petrol station diesel without harming my engines?

Sent from the Norfolk Broads Network mobile app

its all the same stuff so you can mix it, currently the situation is under review, but generally diesel sold on the broads will be a 60/40 split between propulsion and heating, diesel for heating is a lower tax duty, diesel for propulsion pays the same duty as the stuff that goes in your car, you will have to sign a form to acknowledge this split for the tax man.

yes generally diesel is more expensive (even for the red stuff) as the yards dont buy in the quantity that petrol stations do, so dont get the discounts, but you do get the convenience of not having to lug large cans of fuel around. but there is a greater price variation across the broads, with some places being markedly cheaper than others.

We did have a thread somewhere that was kept reasonably  up to date with current prices.

• Like 1

Hi Hipperson's at Beccles is £1=20 per lt 60/40 split and it is GTL Diesel from Shell it's made from gas it has a higher cet rating and has no smell and  fame free which means bug free,  and is compatible with all diesel engines. John

• Like 1

5 minutes ago, annv said:

Hi Hipperson's at Beccles is £1=20 per lt 60/40 split and it is GTL Diesel from Shell it's made from gas it has a higher cet rating and has no smell and  fame free which means bug free,  and is compatible with all diesel engines. John

thats where i filled up when i was on Water Rail, 32 litres for a weeks cruising I didnt feel was too bad.