Shore Power

MKH

Hi everyone,

Relative newbie here (1 previous broads holiday and 1 narrowboat holiday) so please forgive the potentially stupid question...

We're hiring Brinks Melody next week and it has a generator - which I gather means we have to start the engine to make a cuppa.  I'm going to bring a small gas camping stove to alleviate this a little, but I also wondered about Shore Power?  I have a 25m camping hookup cable - is it the same connection as shore power?  And (assuming I was able to get close to a shore power hookup) will this mean I wouldn't need to start the engine engine to cook, etc?

Thanks all,

Mike

Be aware you may be breaching your hire terms to bring a portable gas appliance on a hire boat.  In my opinion there would be no need to worry about use of the facilities on the  boat as are supplied - indeed think it is a boon to have unlimited 240v power on a boat with the use of the generator.

The boat has a generator, but this is not part of the main engine so it is not like running the engine if that makes sense, should the generator be needed these are not likely to disturb your neighbors as it will have an underwater exhaust.

Be aware though, there may well be enough battery capacity to boil the kettle using the on board Inverter, without the generator cutting in.

The shore power system will come with the power connector 'built in' and this should be used. There is no need to bring your own. Many of Barnes power cables are not detachable from the boat though, this was the case on Belmore that I hired recently,  so great care should be taken when leaving a mooring that you have actually unplugged the shore power connection from the electric post.

Ask in reception for the purchase of electricity cards - they cost £1.00 each.

• Like 1

2 hours ago, MKH said:

Hi everyone,

Relative newbie here (1 previous broads holiday and 1 narrowboat holiday) so please forgive the potentially stupid question...