Old Computers

floydraser

I’m surprised it fired up. I did have a kindle, but it won’t switch on, probably because I only used it once in a blue moon, which probably knackered the battery. Having kindle on my tablet is handy, except when I want to use it outside when there’s too much reflection on the screen. Sigh…wish my kindle hadn’t died. 

Modern stuff - try this for a bit of computing history:

Ferranti Atlas: Britain's first supercomputer

My father was one of the users of the Manchester Atlas (for Chemistry research) and as a school kid I was occasionally taken into the Atlas room at weekends without realising the significance of the whole thing.  Subsequently I studied Computer Science at Manchester with lectures from Tom, Dai, Simon & colleagues.  When the Manchester Atlas was decommisioned I saw how some large components were thrown over the parapet of the flat roof of the electrical engineering building into a skip below (I was watching from the 7th floor of the Chemistry building).

The final comment is somehow painful: "and now your washing machine has a more powerful computer in it than Atlas".

• Like 3

somewhere in my attic lies an old unix CAD workstation, this was in use at the time we purchased the first PC CAD version, on windows 3.1, and still remained the fastest CAD station all the way up to windows 2000, despite getting its files from a remote server over a 32 bit modem (54kb / s)

• Like 1

8 hours ago, HEM said:

Modern stuff - try this for a bit of computing history:

Ferranti Atlas: Britain's first supercomputer