A Crash That I Missed.

Vaughan

30 years ago today, I was an international truck driver, and was loading my truck in a depot in Frankfurt. I phoned my boss, Jim, in Attleborough, that morning, to say I was loaded and so he booked me on a ferry that evening from Zeebrugge to Dover.

As it turned out, the load was held up by customs paperwork all day, and I just sat there. This did mean though, that I had "driver's hours" to spare, so Jim changed my booking to the 1100 Zeebrugge to Felixstowe the next morning and I drove through the night to get there for it.

I remember how cold it was, as the ice was building up in front of the wing mirrors. The only radio stations I could get were in French, but it was just background and I wasn't really listening. Around midnight, I suddenly began to notice words on the French news such as "Zeebrugge", "Townsend Thoreson", and "naufrage, catastrophe". From then on I listened as the tragedy of the Herald of Free Enterprise unfolded and the news came through of her capsize. This was the ship that I had been booked on.

I pulled into Zeebrugge just before 10 AM that morning and it was all over. All the ambulances and other crews had all gone, and you would not have known anything had happened. And yet the Belgian emergency services and the local fisherman had pulled off one of the World's miracles that night, by saving so many hundreds of people from seas that were so cold they could have killed in less than 5 minutes. What I remember most was the courage of the Townsend Thoreson staff in the port when I booked in. They were carrying on just as normal, and yet they all had friends who worked on the Herald and at that time, they still didn't know whether their friends had survived or not. When my ship sailed, we went past the capsized hull of the Herald, on the shallows just outside the port and we could see that she was actually facing back towards Zeebrugge when she capsized.