Forgive Me,maybe A Stupid Question,

mikeyboy1966

I’m a newbie on here,but,

live been reading up on historical threads and one thing that strikes me is,

there is a lot of chat about river levels,high tides ,flooding etc etc,

so my question,

would it not be possible to build a sea lock at Yarmouth?

it could be built with a hydro electric scheme ( given the volume of water flowing)

Water levels could be controlled better perhaps.

As I said,forgive me if it’s just plain silly but I’ve been pondering all day:default_biggrin:

mike

historically, sea going ships could navigate into norwich, so adding a lock would just have made that more difficult, as for the volume of water, if you restricted the rivers outflow, that would probably cause flooding more often, the flooding issue is generally caused by high tides restricting the outflow at great yarmouth, putting a lock in would not help that.

13 minutes ago, grendel said:

historically, sea going ships could navigate into norwich, so adding a lock would just have made that more difficult, as for the volume of water, if you restricted the rivers outflow, that would probably cause flooding more often, the flooding issue is generally caused by high tides restricting the outflow at great yarmouth, putting a lock in would not help that.

Historically sea going ships could navigate into Norwich. It would seem that ships should be able to navigate into Norwich. Why would they wish to navigate to Norwich?

Why?  Who are they?  How many?

?.

The excessive levels throughout the high tides would most certainly be reduced if they resumed the dredging of the Upper Yare so the water in the system could flow out prior to the next incoming tide , each year the salt surges seem to be reaching higher and higher up the river systems , I’m amazed the environmental bodies , who normally scream loudest , haven’t realised this .

1 hour ago, Wussername said: