A sincere request to all boat owners & would be DIY'ers

Timbo

Please, please...if you are going to do a job on a boat, do it properly...with the correct materials, tools and fixings. Please try to take into account that at some point in time some poor prat will have to attempt to dismantle your bodge job.

I've spent a full day removing staples, nails, sticky pads and gobbets of 'No more Nails' from just two doors. One of which had a layer of ply that was lifting and had been reattached using no less than 200 rusted and corroded staples from an office stapler and smeared on the inner surface of the lifted ply with No More Nails so that it stood proud.  The other a solid piece of mahogany with a mirror (now broken) that had been attached with every inappropriate adhesive and fastener known to man.

I am not an expert at any form of DIY but over the last couple of months working on Royal Tudor I've realised that it is far more cost effective in both time and money if a job is done correctly in the first place and it costs nothing to ask someone the correct method to be used. What's more, people are very willing to supply the information...thank God because I would have been stuffed without the help of the boating community at large but particularly that of Doug, Matt and Jon at Wayford.

Thankfully both doors are now ready to be sanded and finished. A slit with a scalpel and then reattaching with epoxy (£1 from the pound shop of course), a good coat of wood treatment and the ply door is as good as new and only took twenty minutes to fix, excluding time time to dry thoroughly compared with the hours to 'unbodge' . Some filler and scarfing a new piece into the corner and the mahogany door is almost as good as new...hopefully. The new mirror will be fixed correctly using mirror screws so that the mirror can be removed when necessary.  

• Like 4